About: Lister Hospital

What I liked

Nothing at all

What could be improved

prehaps less tea breaks for the staff and maybe feed your patiants

Anything else?

I was in this hospitall Aug 2010 in Labour but the mertenity staff on the dacre ward could not reconise this and sent my husband home. A little time later they changed there minds and called my husband back, but he did not make it in time. He missed one of his children being born. This is something that can never be given back to him and if they would of just listened to the both of us when was telling then " I'm in labour and want to push" then this could of been avoided. We are now expecting another child and will not be going to this or any hospital to give birth. We feel that the 2 of us can do a better job ourselfs at home.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lister Hospital

We're sorry that you did not have a good experience of the Lister's maternity service last August, but we're pleased to be able to tell you that much has changed since. First of all, our new maternity unit opened fully in October last year, which has transformed the experience of women having their babies. Listening to women like you whose husbands couldn't stay overnight, because the facilities did not exist, we've created a specialist area where this can happen - so fathers no longer need to go home in situations experienced such as that you and your husband experienced.

Although the service has improved considerably since August 2010, we know that what happened for you eight months ago cannot be undone and for that we are really sorry. We hope that you current pregnancy goes well and that you are able to have the home birth that you so clearly want.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful