"Less senior members of staff were caring and..."

About: Croydon University Hospital

What I liked

I was transferred from a different department after discovering a mass during a CAT scan. The (junior?) dcctor was very thorough and explained the problem in a clear manner . Though my case was complicated by a lot of scarring I was kindly assured something would be done and I wouldn't 'just be left'

What could be improved

Total lack of communication! After all the tests I had an appointment with a doctor who said nothing would be done to remove the mass. I strongly object to the letter sent to my GP saying a) he had had a long conversation with me (my timescale obviously differs from his) and b) he had persuaded me not to have a hysterectomy ( as I would only consider a hysterectomy as a last resort I wonder who he had this imaginary conversation with). He gave the impression that as it was a complicated operation he couldn't be bothered!

Anything else?

I remain in pain with no help despite the assurances.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Croydon University Hospital

We are sorry to learn of the problems you had and would like to apologise for any poor communication from our staff.

Your comments have been passed onto the team who manage the service so they can discuss the points you raise with the people concerned but we are also very worried to learn you remain in pain.

If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison (PALS) Team on 020 8401 3210 or email pals@croydonhealth.nhs.uk they can arrange for you to see another clinician and discuss your care and treatment options.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful