"Staff attitude to patients needs to be improved."

About: Royal Derby Hospital

What I liked

The ward was clean and tidy, there was spirigel available.

What could be improved

The attitude of the staff towards the patients!

The lady I was visiting had been distressed by the nursing staff who had banned her from walking to the loo (which was opposite her bed) even though she is mobile and has no risk of falling. When she needed the loo no-one was able to take her so she took herself and was then shouted at by a nurse for doing so.

The attitude of some nursing staff was very much that the patients were a nuisance, and some staff spoke to the patients as though they were stupid. Had the lady I was visiting been family I would have complained regardless, but she was too scared of the repercussions to allow me to say anything to anyone and just wanted to get home.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Derby Hospital

Thank you for your feedback. We cannot comment on behalf of the ward at this point, however there is no excuse for any of our staff to have a bad attitude towards our patients and for this we apologise.

We would like to look into this matter. Please can you contact our PALS team on Freephone 0800 7837691 to discuss your experiences of our services in more detail. Please be assured your comments will be treated seriously and confidentially.

J.Roberts, Communications

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read