"Not a good experiance at al!!!"

About: St Peter's Hospital (Chertsey)

What I liked

ONE nurse in the maternity ward was very nice.

What could be improved


Anything else?

I was told I would be allowed an ambulance to get to the hospital as I have low income but I was refused this, I was told to go in hen my contractions were 5 mins apart i went in about 4-5 times when my contractions were 1-5 mins apart but was sent home everytime with no one telling me when to come back, I was offered a room to stay in because of low income but when I agreed to this I was refused this, when my waters broke we rang up to the ward because the door wasn't working and no one told us to go to a different floor when on the phone, there was another woman waiting and she was seen before me even though she wasn't having contractions and I was almost on the floor in pain, when I was finally seen the nurse checked my pulse with her thumb! I requested pain relief multiple times but was told by a nurse to ask the doctor who said to ask the nurse who said to ask a different doctor who kept coming and going for a long time just leaving me in pain, all during my labour various nurses and doctors kept lifting up my top with no warning and showing my breasts which I didn't enjoy, then I was given a tablet to take and was told later I might need more and that they would go find out but never came back, I was told I would need to take antibiotics at home but was never given any, someone came into my room at about 6:30am and made me sign something to pay for something I wasn't to pay for which has only been sorted now, then when I went to take my baby from the hospital they would not let me if me and my partner didn't stay over night so we did but we given a room with a broken window which leaked all night and was freezing cold, then in the morning we weren't allowed to leave until the afternoon even though we had things that need to be done at home.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Peter's Hospital

We are sorry that your personal experience of our maternity services was not more positive. Due to the unexpected nature of childbirth we cannot book ambulance transport for patients in advance and it is entirely usual for women to plan their own route to hospital. It can take a long time for labour to become established and women often come into triage more than once, going home in-between where they will be more comfortable. At busy times, our midwives will decide who needs to be seen first and if there are any immediate concerns about the health of a mother or baby this will always take priority. Without knowing the specific details of this case, it is difficult to comment about medication but we do try to provide appropriate and timely pain relief for every woman. Privacy and dignity is something we take very seriously throughout the Trust and we apologise if you were made to feel uncomfortable in any way. The timing of discharge depends on the individual and some women, such as those who have a caesarean birth, will need to stay in hospital for longer. We will only send a family home when we are happy with the health of the mother and baby.

We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experiences in more detail and invite you to call our Patient Advise and Liaison Services (PALS) on 01932 723553 to arrange a meeting.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful