"Downright unacceptable and needs urgent addressing..."

About: Royal Bolton Hospital

What I liked

Today the 10th March 2012 we took our small granddaughter of 3 years old for treatment of a very distressing nature of vomiting over a period of 5 days in which she had lost weight. We arrived at the hospital at 12:00 hours and we had the longest wait for treatment, it was a disgrace, we left at 17:00 hours a total of 5 hours. I am not sure if this is a go slow attitude because of hospiutal cuts but it is unacceptable. Children are the most sensitive of creatures and demand immediate attention. The doctor in attendance said it was a shortage of staff. I find this condescending and a poor response and speaks of a go slow attitude. We all have work to do and part of it is not spending a life time with delays of this nature. The little girl was in much distress in fact the doctor after all this waiting tried to turn us away without medication for the child.

Disgusted grandparent.

What could be improved

Much more care and better patient treatment with far less waiting 5 Hours is far two long for such treatment of a toddler. Very bad service

Anything else?

I would think the comments above would suffice.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Bolton Hospital

I’m sorry that you felt that you had a long time to wait for your granddaughter to be seen. Unfortunately the Emergency Department had a high number of attendances on Saturday. This led to some delays to see patients, due to the medical staff needing to cover both the adult and children’s sides of the department. There were a number of very sick patients in the adult and children’s resuscitation areas who took priority causing delays in some of the other areas. I fully appreciate that it is upsetting for patients – especially children – and their relatives if there is a wait, but would like to assure you that this only happens if we are dealing with patients whose need is more urgent. If you would like to discuss this in more detail please contact me, Sue Franklin, Departmental Manager, Tel No 390252 or our Patient Advisory and Liaison Service on 390193.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful