"Extremely distressing and the pinnacle of..."

About: Salisbury District Hospital

What I liked

The care under the nurses in the Surgical Admissiong Lounge was good

What could be improved

The hospital failed in every way possible with regards to booking and organising a surgery, not only was the first operation booking cancelled and I was not told, when it was finally booked for a second time I was in hospital on the morning of my operation waiting to be seen by the anaesthetist when I was told that the equipment required to do my operation had been returned to the leasing company because it arrived early and the hospital did not want to pay for it and no-one had rebooked it therefore a complete waste of time effort energy and money. This problem could have been quite easily avoided if anyone in the booking process had taken the care that should be applied, complete inadequacy was shown and I’m sure no-one will be held responsible for this avoidable error that has greatly upset and inconvenienced me resulting in me having to live in constant pain until another operation slot can be booked (and yet again possibly cancelled).

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Salisbury District Hospital

We are very sorry for the distress you have experienced and apologise for the inconvenience. We do not know from your comment whether your operation has been rescheduled. However, please contact our customer care department on 0800 374208, so that we can look into this for you if you haven't already been given a new date, or if you would like to discuss the issues you have raised with someone.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful