You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page

"Hated every moment."

About: Russells Hall Hospital

What I liked

I was placed in an individual room of my own ( after waiting 5hours...)

The room was cleaned very extensively.

I know its not their fault, but the nurses would rarely speak to you but when they did, they were very nice.

What could be improved

Food that I could eat wasn't provide (I'm lactose intollerant).

I wasn't informed about my diagnosis, the tests, the results, what the ward I was on was for.

The nurses talked loudly from around 10pm-4am.

When I was discharged, the Dr who did so was incredibly patronising and treated me like I was 8, not 18. He didn't seem to understand how hard it was being in that ward, isolated in my own room with the door shut. He was really uneccesarily rude.

Anything else?

Unless you absoloutly have no other choice, avoid it.

Story from


Response from Russells Hall Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about your stay in our hospital.

We are concerned, however, by your comments about your stay as an inpatient. This is not the kind of experience we would want anyone to have as a patient in our care. We always strive to provide the highest standard of care and we are very sorry if, on this occasion, our standards fell short of those we aim to provide.

We are disappointed to hear that you were not kept informed about your diagnosis, test results and care plan. We do realise good communication is key to patients having a good experience when they visit the hospital.

Medical staff do receive training in effective communication and it appears that on this occasion we could have done better. Please accept our apologies for any upset this caused you. There is never an excuse for rude or patronising behaviour and we are sorry that you experienced this.

We welcome all feedback and would like to assure you that all comments are taken seriously and acted upon as part of our ongoing commitment to improving patient experience.

You have raised a number of issues, including the night staff talking loudly, which we would like to follow up so that we can learn from your experience. We would really appreciate you contacting our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0800 073 0510 to discuss your concerns in more detail.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful