You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page

"Very disappointed in your after-care service"

About: Moorfields Eye Hospital (City Road)

What could be improved

I have visited the hospital as an outpatient and also for surgery last November. My follow up appointment in January resulted in a three hour wait to see the doctor (I have never seen the same one twice). I live in Lincolnshire and my journey to the hospital involves a three hour train journey. If the January appointment and subsequent waiting time had been a one off I wouldn't have felt the need to write on here but I visited again for a post operative check up yesterday, my appointment was for three o'clock. When it got to five o'clock and no-one had seen me or given me any information (It said waiting time between one and two hours at the reception) I went and asked the receptionist how much longer I would be as we had seats booked on a train back to Lincoln at seven p.m. They said that there were still six people before me which I found hard to understand as everyone left sitting had arrived long after me. I finally got seen by the docor at six p.m. and left the outpatients department at six thirty. There was no-one left in the clincic when we left.

I had 30 minutes to get from Moorfields to catch my train at seven p.m back home to Lincoln. I just made it with minutes to spare. I am 67 years of age and it was a very stressful experience for me.

Does the hospital not take into account how far patients have had to come when they decide the order in which to see patients. Certainly many of the patients who arrived long after me were seen before me in exactly the same clinic. The system seems not to be working very well and I am very disappointed in the hospital's aftercare service.

Story from


Response from Moorfields Eye Hospital (City Road)

I am so sorry to hear of your poor experience with us. We are working hard to sort out our waiting times once patients arrive in clinic, but we clearly haven't succeeded in your case. If you were able to email our patient advice and liaison service (PALS) team on with more details about which clinic you were visiting, they will be able to investigate it for you and provide you with a fuller response.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful