You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page

"My experience over 4 yrs"

About: Twyford Surgery

General comments on my experience over four years: It is really hard to get through on the phone even though if you are queue position one, you have to keep waiting to the point where you decide to hang up.

It is hard to get an appointment when you really need it.

Receptionists; some of them are nice but others are not very understanding and actually quite rude.

When I was pregnant I thought I had a urinary tract infection. The surgery couldn't give me an appointment where they could have used an indicator to double check whether it is or not, instead they just prescribed antibiotics over the phone. Later on in my pregnancy I experienced the same symptoms and it turned out it was not infection all along and therefore there was no point in having risked taking antibiotics whilst pregnant.

Story from nhs.uk

Responses

Response from Twyford Surgery

Dear Patient. I'm sorry about a delayed response to this comment. It is standard practice to prescribe early antibiotics for UTI in pregnancy; however, if it is practicable to test a urine sample before treatment then this is ideal. Sometimes it is not possible to do this. We should always ask for a sample after antibiotics to see if the infection is clear and if there is a recurrence of symptoms then it is local policy to test the urine before treatment and send a laboratory sample. If this did not happen I am sorry and I'd like to look into your case, confidentially. Best Wishes, Simon Ruffle

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful