You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page

"Lack of co-ordination with regards to appointments"

About: Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust / District nursing

(as a relative),

My mother recently came out of hospital and she was required to get B12 shots (not urgent I know), they said that the District Nurse would visit on Sunday and then every other day for a week and then on a 3 month basis to keep her B12 upto date.

So on Friday I missed a call from them (no nurse name given) I rang them back, went to voicemail, left a message, 2 hours later I rang again and spoke to someone in Admin, who tried to ring the District Nurse but no answer so took a message. No  call back 2 hours later so I rang back again, automated system so I left a message, no call back, I called again and spoke to someone who left a message with the nurse (or so I thought, all they do is leave a note in the patient notes and no one seems to read it!).

Saturday I rang back to find out approx when they would visit on Sunday, this time I managed to speak to a nurse and was told that they would give me a call half hour before nurse would turn up.

Sunday waited till approx 1pm and a nurse rang and said that as they usually only dealt with emergency cases on Sunday they would not be coming, so they rescheduled for Monday morning anytime between 10am and 1pm.  Total time wasters, I am going to contact my mothers doctor and see if the Practice Nurse can give mum her shots.

More about:

Responses

Response from Tameside & Glossop Integrated Care NHSFT

Good afternoon,

Thank you for posting your story, I was very sorry to learn of the difficulties you have experienced in accessing care from the District Nurse Team. This is not the standard of communication we expect and I can appreciate that this must have been very frustrating for you and your mother. Please be assured that I will share this with the Head of Nursing for our Intermediate Tier Services for her awareness, however should you wish to provide more specific information which would enable us to identify your mother and the staff involved in this instance, you can do this through the PALS and Complaints Team on 0161 922 4466 or by emailing palsandcomplaints@tgh.nhs.uk.

I hope that this situation has now resolved and your mother has received the treatment she required. Once again, I am sorry for the difficulties you described above.

kind regards,

Alexia Charnley

Head of PALS, Complaints and Candour