You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page

"Spoilt by hideous food and drink available!"

About: Diana, Princess Of Wales Hospital

What I liked

The staff were good with the exception on 1 0r 2, which spoilt the rating I gave! Some were exceptional and nothing was too much trouble, and the odd one or two - already mentioned just weren't visible on the ward. Unfortunately the shifts I refer to had all the poor staff on together, so really stick out in my mind!

What could be improved

The food and drink! It was horrible. I was in for 5 days and didn't get a warm drink - never mind hot! I have to sday they wer undrinkable, the tea was cold and stewed, a bit like tar, and the coffee - well i don't think it had any coffee in it! My husband was buying drinks in the M & S cafe and bringing them up! Many other patients relatives, were also doing this!

The food was not of a high standard, but this was made so much worse by the fact that it was cold! Try eating cold porrige or burnt leather toast when you are post-op! Again I can honestly say that i didn't get anything that was even luke-warm and this is just unacceptable in the 21st century!

Anything else?

I did write to the ward manager about this and have not had any reply! I do appreciate this may not be within her remit. If that was the case then I did request that they let me know who I could write to about this! As mentioned several weeks later no reply at all!

More about:

Story from


Response from Diana, Princess Of Wales Hospital

We always strive to provide quality care for our patients and as such we were concerned to read this and would ask the person to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service to ensure this can be investigated fully. They can be contacted on 01724 290132 or Grimsby 01472 875403

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful