You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page

"As a patient I feel I have been given very poor..."

About: Russells Hall Hospital

What I liked

During my time in this hospital, there was only the theatre staff that I thought treated me like I should be treated, with dignity, respect and care.

What could be improved

Although there were three changes of staff during my time on the ward I believe my treatment was substandard. After coming round from a general anaesthetic I pressed the buzzer as I felt very sick. I could not make it out of bed and proceeded to vomit blood over the bed until a patients parent fetched a bowl for me and drew the curtains slightly. When a nurse did come she looked at the vomit on me and the bed and said no-one wants to see that whilst they are eating and drew the curtains shut leaving me to it. Then a doctor came and began to tell me what had happened in theatre but left as soon as he saw the vomit he too left. I managed to get out of bed and tried to take the bed clothes off. This time a different nurse came in and covered up the bed sheets saying we don’t want to see that. At nearly midnight I felt particularly unwell and managed to get to the bathroom, I was covered in beads of sweat, felt very hot and thought I was going to pass out. I came out of the bathroom and went to a nurse on the desk and told her how I felt. It was this time a nurse told me my blood pressure had been low and my sats had dropped in surgery and a nurse would come and check it. I was told I didn't have a temperature but my BP continued to drop slightly and I was told that I would have regular checks to monitor it. I asked for some pain killers, which I received and I did not see anyone else until approx 8 the following morning when a nurse asked if I still felt sick, I responded on and off and he replied we need to know so we can keep you monitored, half an hour later and no more checks I was told to get dressed as I could go home.

Anything else?

As the days have passed since my stay I have become quite upset at my treatment at the hospital. Not all of the nurses behaved in such an terrible manner as a few were quite nice when passing through. I felt very positive about my operation beforehand and had been kept informed about was was going to take place, unfortunately the after care I received has made the whole experience very frightening.

Story from


Response from Russells Hall Hospital

Firstly Nelliee, we would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the upsetting experience you had while in our care.

We are very concerned by your comments because this is not the level of care we would expect you or any of our patients to receive. We always strive to provide the highest standard of care and we are very sorry if, on this occasion, our standards fell short of those we aim to provide.

We urge you to get in touch with our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on free phone 0800 073 0510 so we can go through the concerns you have raised in much more detail and follow this up with the Matron and her team.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful