You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page

"the worst experience ever from start to the end"

About: St Helier Hospital

What could be improved

Nursing staff shuolde been more attentive and polite. they should work together as a team not as individuals. they should treat every patient with respect and dignity.

Anything else?

My mum was transferred from Royal Marsden hospital toSt Heliers hospital for an urgent procedure they don t do inRMH. She was taken to A&E resus room and we were told she would be seen very shortly. After 4 hours waiting my mum finally was

seen by dr and they decided to do the procedure. Within 4hours of waiting A&E nurses

didn t attend once to my mum (apart from taking bloods from her)to ask how is she feeling if she needs anything etc. They were not busy ( with nursing duties) they only had two other patients in resus room and they weren t attending to them either,. They were busy chating about their personal problems.

I told them few times they didn t put nameband on my mum s arm. As

my mum only speaks basic english I was getting very worried about leaving her in hospital.

After dr did the procedure we were transferred to a


around 10pm. I reminded the A&E nurse abut the nameband she said she would tell them upstairs to put one on my mums arm.

They failed to do it upstairs as well and as a result they were giving my mum Wrong drugs in the morning. I spoke to sister in charge and she said she would investigate and get back to me. She never did so when I went to see my mum in the afternoon I went to see her in the office. I was told that the nurse was about to give my mum drugs but stopped after realising it s not for my mum. My mum was transferred to another ward C6 she

had to stay in the hospital over the weekend and it was the worst experience ever. I took her home on Monday and I just have to hope we will never end up in St Heliers hospital again

asthe hospital is failling greatly in basic standards

Story from


Response from St Helier Hospital

Thank you for sparing the time to let us have feedback on the care your mum received at St Helier Hospital.

As you can imagine, I am extremely disappointed to hear about the concerns you have raised, especially in relation to the way in which you say we treated your mother and, importantly, not ensuring she was given a name band. This is not the level of care we would expect any of our patients to receive.

It would help me to understand a little more about where your mother was treated in the hospital so that we can investigate the issues you have raised. This will allow us to raise it with the staff involved and to help ensure it does not happen again.

As such, I would be grateful if you could please contact our PALS (Patient Advice and Liaison Service) team. The can be reached by calling 020 8296 2508, via email or online (

Thank you again for taking the time to let us have your feedback. I would like to reassure you that the experience you and your mum have had is not what I would expect.

Pippa Hart

Director of Nursing

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful