You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page

"disgusting, unhelpful, bad mannered, abrupt and no..."

About: Stepping Hill Hospital

What I liked


What could be improved


Anything else?

i have never felt so uncomfortable and spoken to in such a way that made me feel so upset. i also couldnt understand what the doctor was saying. i wasnt given the option about the student nurse she was already sat in the room i didnt even realise she was a student until it came to the procedure. it was in the gynaecology department, he told me to undress in the correct way and put the curtain round, i didnt even get chance to unchange before a nurse id never seen came rushing in to where i was! so in all 3 people were in there. i explained to the doctor beforehand that i had ptsd, he didnt know what it was so i said the full words, i have ptsd because of sexual abuse yet he didnt bother to ask about it. the student did the procedure, well tried to i understand she was learning but what was already an overwhelming experience for me was made worse when she couldnt do it properly so two of the doctors spent the next 5 mins at the bottom of my bed telling her how to do it rather than showing her himself. the nurse then passed swabs and used large words that i didnt understand to explain what each one was i heard the word chlamydia and said oh ive had sti tests the doctor became angry and rude and almost shouted at me saying this is what i asked you outside and you said no i explained that i musnt have understand the question when asked and he repeated the same thing again very rudely! he then said about examining me using his fingers, he seemed to do it really quickly and too hard that i was wincing while he did it. i had no map to show me where the gynaecology department was no leaflets to say what a lapoaroscopy fully involved just a bit of paper with a number on then sent away. i wasnt totally comfortable with the procedure anyway considering my past but to be treated like that and with no respect or regards to that i went away and cried in the toilets, i am truely disgusted and very upset

Story from


Response from Stepping Hill Hospital

Thank you for your comments.

I sincerely apologise that these were not been responded to in a timely manner.

This was due to lack of administrative support at the time which has now been rectified.

I would like to reassure you however that your comments were forwarded to the appropriate teams for them to reflect and learn from your experience so that improvements could be made in the services we offer.

Kind regards

Patient and Customer Services Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful