You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page

"Consultation was excellent, after care terrible."

About: University Hospital Of North Durham

What I liked

I attended the stroke unit after a suspected TIA, the care I received at the time was great, the two specialists seen were supportive and really informative. Not only did I feel reasurred, I felt looked after! Confident!

What could be improved

Given that a TIA was suspected, both specialists wanted ECGm MRI, MRA and or Lumbarpuncture performed as soon as possible "Within the week", it has now been 6 weeks and I'm no further forward in aqcuiring an appointment for any of the scans, and had to go to the doctors in order to request an full ECG (happened 5 weeks later)

I understand the need to manage resources - however the doctors reinforced, "The 90 days from now are crucial, we need to know if you're at risk of a stroke as soon as possible, so attend every appoitment without excuses or cancelling, 1 x 75mg aspirin a day, work less, eat less high risk food and stop smoking."

45 Days in... and no further forward...

I am still worried, increasingly so!

Story from


Response from University Hospital Of North Durham

Dear Doofah,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent admission to the Stroke Unit at University Hospital of North Durham.

I am pleased to hear that you were happy with your care whilst you were on the ward, but am sorry to hear about the delay in your scans/tests.

We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you and would urge you to contact the Patient Experience Team on 0800 7835774 so we can attemp to resolve them. If you would prefer to contact us by e-mail, our address is

Alternatively, you can write to us at the following address: -

Patient Experience Team

Darlington Memorial Hospital

Hollyhurst Road


County Durham


If you do decide to contact us, please make us aware that you have left comments on the NHS Choices website.

The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients.

Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices.

Patient Experience Team

County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust

Tel: 0800 7835774

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful