You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page

"Outstanding level of care and competence"

About: Bradford Royal Infirmary

What I liked

I wanted to place on record my complete admiration for all the staff at the maternity unit at Bradford Royal Infirmary. Both of my sons births were difficult and traumatic in particular the birth of my second son this week 24th Jan 2012 where i had to have an emergency c section. I was overwhelmed by the speed at which the staff acted to ensure he was delivered quickly and safely in under 15 minutes. Too many people are quick to moan about the NHS and shouldnt. We are incredibly fortunate to have free health care in this country and the staff I have dealt with at BRI have been fantastic at all times. The staff at the maternity unit are a credit to the NHS and I will forever hold them in very high regard. They make you feel like you are the most important person they are dealing with despite being obviously stretched resource wise. They all had a smile on their faces at all times both in delivery suite and on the wards. I hope this recognition can get passed on. Truely inspiration level of service thank you.

What could be improved

Alot of the midwifes were frustrated by the amount of admin/paperwork they have to complete they said this impacts in available time being able to spend talking to patients. This said this did not affect my experience as I was made to feel important at all times to them despite how busy they were.

The food was quite poor - luke warm at best so thats one area for improvement

Story from


Response from Bradford Royal Infirmary

Hello, I am really sorry you did not get a response to this at the time. We think this was because of a technical problem with the site which meant some posts were not feeding through to us. We have only just become aware of this and are working with NHS Choices to put it right. I am so pleased that you had such excellent care in our maternity unit and that your son was delivered safe and sound, and that you felt staff put you first - that is exactly what we want for all our patients.

We are always trying to find ways to make sure clinical staff have the time they need for their patients. I am sorry the food was poor, that is not acceptable, it is really important patients have good quality, tasty food.

You may be interested to know that since the time of your post the maternity catering has been reviewed in response to patient feedback, and the choice and standard has improved.

If you have any concerns in the future please don't hesitate to ask to speak to a senior member of the ward staff, or the Matron, or contact our Patient Experience Manager on 01274 364810, so we can investigate and take any action necessary. Thank you for your feedback and apologies again for the delay.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful