You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page


About: St Helier Hospital

What I liked

My mother was taken to St Helier hospital with supposed appendicitus at the beginning of January, after a week in pain with a whole load of scans and tests they decided it was not after all! she did in fact have an abcess on her bowel and ovaries which was pushing against her organs, however the nurses and surgeons etc did not give her much faith in their findings. My mother also suffers from rapid cycle bi polar and therefore found this all very distressing. After her operation she was sent to HDU (high dependency unit) where she was kept for a few days, however when the night staff had a screaming match and a member of the team walked out of the department nerves were put on edge. A nurse then said to my mother " we dont need to be here so you could try and cooperate, i dont have to help you so could you do me a favor and be more appreciative" after my mother simply asked how much longer she would be in this particular ward, my mother is a gentle person and was upset to hear staff talk to her in such a manner. Mary Moore ward was much the same when night staff left my mother without a drip in her arm for at least 2 hours when she was supposed to have one and was also left with no oxygen all night when she was supposed to have it. On the other hand M2 ward was fantastic, exceptionally lovely nurses, very kind friendly and attentive this is the only ward in my knowledge to which i would recommend someone. Sorry for bad punctuation or grammar, its not exactly my strong point but this is my families experience of St Helier.

What could be improved

Staff should have been more attentive and polite. The behavior from particular nurses was totally unacceptable and frankly disgusting.

Anything else?

M2 nurses are amazing and definately deserve acknoledgement for their brilliant care of my mother and other patients in their ward.

Story from


Response from St Helier Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to let us have feedback about the care your mother received at St Helier Hospital.

As you can imagine, we were disappointed to hear you were not happy with the care your mother received in the high dependency unit and on Mary Moore ward.

As such, we have passed your comments on to the teams involved and we would be more than happy to arrange for someone from our PALS (Patient Advice and Liaison Service) team to call you if you would like to discuss your concerns in more detail.

You can do this by calling 020 8296 2508, by visiting or by emailing

Considering the concerns mentioned above, we were pleased to hear that you were happy with the care your mother received on M2 ward and we have passed your feedback on to the team there.

Thank you again for taking the time to visit NHS Choices and to let us know what you thought.

Pippa Hart

Director of Nursing

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful