"Out Patient Service"

About: Harrison Centre

(as the patient),

I have been in adult services since I was 17, little earlier than normal.

I feel my treatment has always been variable, but small positive changes seemed to have started to be made. However, the hard work and effort which I had put into help the service seems to have been thrown back in my face, AGAIN!

I currently have had appointment after appointment cancelled and I have felt my mood slowly slipping and my anxiety getting worse after each cancellation. I have then been told that because I moved for a few months that there had been confusion when I had moved back and letters had been sent to my old address (despite me having have paid for a redirection service). I felt like I was being accused of lying. I have finally had a new appointment made after not answering properly if I could keep myself safe. If I say yes then it's not deemed an emergency if I say no crisis breaks out and I'll find myself back in hospital quicker than I can blink.

I think it's awful that as you get further on in your treatment, cancellations don't seem to bother professionals as much. I'm not fully recovered as if I was I wouldn't be in services, or feeling low and depressed as I am doing with feeling undervalued.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Katherine Earlam, PALS Officer, 5 Boroughs Partnership NHS Trust

I am sorry to hear that you have had several out patients appointments cancelled and this has left you feeling undervalued; despite your contribution to the Service User and Carer Involvement Scheme. I would like to assure you that your contribution to 5 Boroughs Partnership NHS Foundation Trust is valued and very much appreciated.

In your recent posting, you make reference to the telephone conversations that we had following the cancellation of your last out patient appointment. During the conversation I relayed the information to you explaining why a mix up with the appointment may have occurred. I did not insinuate that you had lied about not receiving an appointment letter and I am disappointed and apologise if that is how you felt.

When we spoke I offered you an alternative appointment, which you agreed was convenient; however I advised that if you felt that you needed an earlier appointment I would arrange this for you. After discussing this with a relative, you rang me back to inform me that you had decided to keep the original appointment. I can only reiterate that I would have arranged an earlier appointment for you had you wanted to see someone sooner.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any further concerns and I will attempt to resolve them. I do not want you to feel that your needs are not being met and hope that future contact you have with our services is a positive one.

Adrianne Roberts

Matron Warrington Adult Services

01925 664000

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful