"I felt I didn't have the respect I needed at Russells Hall"

About: Russells Hall Hospital / Accident and emergency

(as the patient),

I am sorry but I have a negative story to share here. Yesterday spending 3 and a half hours in emergenecy and assessment unit at russells hall hospital. I was very hungry and tired and my recently operated knee was in pain. I was treated kindly by one nurse and the doctor was satisfactory but also another nurse was kind of ok but I felt I didn't have the respect I needed. I was very dissappointed with the waiting time too in emergency assessment unit. Over all my experience was quite poor sorry to say.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Dudley Group of Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your experience of our Emergency Assessment Unit (EAU) at Russells Hall Hospital. We are sorry you feel that you did not have the respect you deserved during your visit. Respect and dignity is of the utmost importance and we are very sorry you feel you did not receive it.

We can only apologise for the amount of time you had to wait in the unit. Patients who come to our EAU can expect to be in the department for around 12 to 18 hours before they are admitted on to a ward or discharged home. We are looking at a new system of how patients are referred so that we can mange patient’s length of stay in the department better.

We always aim to provide the best care to our patients and we are sorry, if on this occasion, our standards fell short. Your comments will be forwarded to the Matron of EAU and raised at the next departmental team meeting.

We would ask that you get in touch with us so that we can look into the concerns you raise in more detail. Please contact out Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on free phone 0800 073 0510.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read