"My childbirth experience"

About: North Staffs Maternity Hospital

(as the patient),

I had a terrible childbirth experience. I had lots of procedures done and the staff I met were rough with me, had no sympathy. I was told to let go of the gas and air - terrible and absolutely bang out of order. I was frightened yet wasn't supported, not enough staff.

It totally spoiled my experience, has for life - through it I'm scared to have anymore children. I was also treated like just a number, uncalled for.

You should be looked after in that situation. Also the curtain was left open most of the time, it was awful while I was giving birth.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Rachel Harrop, Website and Communications Officer, University Hospitals of North Midlands NHS Trust

Dear Amberleigh

We are very sorry to hear you did not have the birth experience you had hoped for.

We are not sure from your comment whether you were a patient at the old or new maternity unit. However, we can confirm that all labour rooms on the delivery suite in the new maternity unit are single rooms with ensuite facilities. The doors are also curtained to increase privacy.

We are not sure from your comment how long ago you were a patient at our maternity unit, but we would like to address the issues you have raised if you would like to get in touch with us. The best way is to contact the 'After Birth' service, which gives mums the chance to talk privately with an experienced midwife about any issues they had or currently have with their care. The talk is conducted on a 1:1 basis and is entirely confidential. If you think you would be interested in talking to someone, please call 01782 672333 to make an appointment.

If for any reason the midwife is unavailable, a member of staff will take a message.

University Hospital

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful