"I felt I was just a number when going into labour"

About: North Staffs Maternity Hospital

(as the patient),

I gave birth 2 years ago and it was a terrible experience.

I felt they were very very understaffed, no sympathy...I felt i was just a number. I rang and rang when i was in labour, was told to have paracetamol and rest, said they were full up, no beds free.

I didn't go in for 6 hours, yet there was 4 rooms free when i arrived. My waters were pouring all over the floor yet I was just told to sit down and wait ..excruciating pain yet told to sit and wait my turn.

There was beds for me, yet I had to sit with everyone all embarrassed, absolutely terrible for me and my partner, terrible.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospitals of North Midlands NHS Trust

Dear Louisa

We are very sorry to hear you had the experience you described. We endeavour to provide an excellent service at our maternity unit and we are concerned to hear about the issues you have raised.

Sometimes, having the chance to discuss your experience with someone can be beneficial. University Hospital offers a service called ‘After Birth’ which gives mums the chance to talk privately with an experienced midwife about any issues they had or currently have with their care. The talk is conducted on a 1:1 basis and is entirely confidential. If you think you would be interested in talking to someone, please call 01782 672333 to make an appointment.

If for any reason the midwife is unavailable, a member of staff will take a message.

University Hospital