"waste of time and no basic curtesy"

About: Calderdale Royal Hospital / Maternity care

Had an appointment to see the anaesthetist at calderdale hospital in halifax. was told this appointment was essential as have health conditions that make travelling difficult.

traveled for the appointment which was a waste of time. was given a handout about pain relief and asked a list of questions some of which my consultant had already asked. surely the nhs should share data.

on arrival I got sent to the wrong area and had to be redirected as the location on the letter for my appointment was wrong. i then checked in and although there was a water machine there was no cups available.

further went into the appointment with my husband as unable to travel on my own. there was only 1 chair in the room and the anaesthetist did not apologise for this or offer to get another. instead my husband sat on the floor. the anaesthetist did not provide any new information just gave me a handout and asked questions that could have been asked over the phone rather than a 3 hr round trip for an appointment that lasted less than 10 mins.

not only was this a waste of both our time but has now made me doubt whether other 'essential' appointments are necessary and worth travelling for.

Story from nhs.uk


Response from Calderdale Royal Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on our services. If we learn more about your experience it will help us improve the services we offer, and if you are able to we would ask that you contact our Patient Advice & Complaints Service:

Patient Advice & Complaints Service

Calderdale & Huddersfield NHS Foundation Trust

Huddersfield Royal Infirmary

Acre Street




0800 013 0018 | patientadvice@cht.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful