"Appointment cancelled 5 times!"

About: Derriford Hospital Sentinel Healthcare Southwest Community Interest Company / Shoulders, Knees & Feet (muscles & bones)

(as the patient),

I have always had a satisfactory outcome whilst being treated at Derriford Hospital, as an outpatient and as an inpatient. However, I was due to have a knee replacement operation in 2008, my appointment was actually cancelled 5 times before I had surgery. On some of my appointments, I had actually been prepared for surgery, and then was told that the operation was cancelled.

However the outcome was good, I was operated on, and my surgeon did an absolutely brilliant job. Only one complaint, don't like the attitude of some of the staff on orthopaedics ward level 11.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sentinel Healthcare

Dear wight928

Thank you for posting your experience.

Your feedback seems to be best directed to Derriford Hospital and specifically the Patient Advise and Liason Service. They would be able to investigate the history for you and give reasoning for the cancellations. I’m sorry that this happened and that you were so close to surgery and let down at short notice, as this is not related to Sentinel I cannot comment on reasoning for this but would hope the team at Derriford Hospital can give you some answers.

I’m glad you were pleased with the outcome of your surgery and thank you again for added your opinion, I will now forward your opinion to the Patient Advise and Liason Service and please feel free to contact me directly on natalie.burnside@nhs.net

Kind regards

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful