You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page

"You have 5 choices of Trust - do not choose this..."

About: Fairfield General Hospital

What I liked

I was welcomed by clinic by two very busy reception staff who were helpful and courteous

What could be improved

It was dissapointing to see a clinic so full that elderly patients were left queuing down the corridor.

Anything else?

I actually work for the NHS and I was appauled by the treatment I received from the Registar in clinic - I have only been to the Haematology clinic one time previous and saw a Consultant who was very helpful, explained what my symptoms were and what the possible causes could be and the investigations he wanted me to have.

I was completely unprepared for the brisque attitude of the Registrar on my follow up appointement 8 weeks later. I felt like a naughty child with every decision made by the Consultant on my previous visit disagreed with. She had clearly not read my notes and as usual blamed my symptoms on my age! I was advised that the further investigations ordered by the other Consultant were probably not needed as she disagreed with his diagnosis but said "you may as well go anyway" but I obviously do not want to waste NHS resources on expensive investigations if they arenot necessary. I now do not have a clear overview of my care pathway, what is wrong with me or what to do next - I now have to go back to my GP to ask what is happening!

I was so taken aback I just left very upset by the whole experience - so much so I do not want to go back for my follow up appointment in case I am allocated this registrar.

As I said earlier I work for the NHS and am fully aware of the processes for complaint however I feel a direct report on this site would reach more people.

Story from


Response from Fairfield General Hospital

We are sorry to read about the issues you have raised regarding your treatment at the Haematology Clinic. Your feedback will be sent on to the department for their attention.

As you stated in your comments, you are aware of the complaints process. If you would like us to investigate the issues you have raised, please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0161 604 5897.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful