You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page


About: Warwick Hospital

What I liked

Of three reception staff, two nurses and who I presume to be a "specialist" , only one of the nurses could be considered pleasant. The rest were either just tolerable or unpleasant. I really find it hard to find anything that I could vaguely describe as likeable.

What could be improved

Virtually every aspect of the care should and could be improved. Having been given an appointment an hour before I was due to arrive I still had to wait a further hour after the scheduled appointment time before being seen! Staff kept on finding and then losing the referral letter. The receptionist was just blatantly rude. The nurses kept on calling my name and every time I stood up just abruptly told me to sit down again without explanation. When I got to see what I presume to see a consultant they were rude, disinterested and hardly empathetic. As someone with a "medical" background I seriously question their knowledge.

Hygiene of the equipment was inadequate. Only after I requested an attempt at pain relief was something dispensed. Unfortunately the product was not available from the hospital dispensary so another script was required. As the doctor had gone to theatre I was told to wait again. Not surprisingly I elected to leave.

Anything else?

As a tax payer we do in fact pay for this service. The staff earn good salaries but treat patients as though they are doing us a favour! I would appreciate an opportunity to consult with NHS authorities in this regard. The NHS needs to change - dramatically!

Story from


Response from Warwick Hospital

I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with you attendance at the Eye Unit. We regularly audit patient experience in the Unit and generally get good feedback. The Unit treats a combination of elective and urgent patients. From the description that you have given, I assume your attendance will have been urgent and hence not subject to a booked appointment. I would encourage you to contact me so that I can look into the matter further.

You can write to me at Chief Executive, Warwick Hospital, Lakin Road, CV34 5BW

Glen Burley,

Chief Executive

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful