"lack of nutrition for breastfeeding mothers at Royal Alexandra"

About: Royal Alexandra Hospital (Paisley)

(as the patient),

Living on the west coast of Scotland it is common for babies and young children to have to travel to Glasgow for anything beyond the scope of the GP or a one-off A&E visit.

On our young baby being admitted (on 3 separate occasions) I discovered that a decision had been made to not feed nursing mothers in the children's ward. This meant I was 3 days away from home (a 5.5hr round trip away) without me officially being able to get any nutrition which I felt would help our baby get better.

In addition, very poor catering facilities and ongoing refurbishment works meant that for those without money on them (again, going down in an ambulance and, having nobody living nearby to help, meant I had no cash on me) there was no means of getting any food. Not only was I suffering but how was I meant to supply my sick baby with vital fluids following such a decision?

Letters are being exchanged with the NHS and they are apparently raising the matter.

I felt very let down by the system whilst the staff did their best to help me within the confines of the dictates handed down to them.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from John Hamilton, Head of Board Administration, Board Administration, NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde

Thank you for posting a message on Patient Opinions and sharing your frustrations with us about the difficulties you experienced having travelled to Glasgow/Paisley with your baby for treatment and not getting appropriate access to nutrition/eating facilities.

I apologise for the difficulties you have experienced and the additional worry this gave you.

We value your feedback, and while I note your comment that letters have been exchanged with the NHS and they are apparently raising the matter, my colleagues are now currently considering the issues you have raised on Patient Opinions and we will post a further response to your comments as soon as possible.

Thank you for letting us know about your experience and we will be back in touch,


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful