You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page

"a wholly degrading and humilating experience"

About: Lincoln County Hospital

Anything else?

I am appalled at the treatment of my daughter who is 17 weeks pregnant, and was referred on Thursday evening to branston ward by our g.p. .my daughter was referred because she had abdominal pain and our gp felt a lump in her tummy, on arrival at branston ward after an initial wait my daughter was told that she would be kept in overnight and scanned the next morning to see what was happening then she was left again for a couple of hours, now my daughter who has had a miscarriage of triplets last year became very upset and frightened, as she was at branston ward on her own as her partner was at work. the doctor came in again ,and said that they had been looking at previous scans and my daughters records (she is bi-polar) and that it was all to do with her low mood and she was to go home and they would not be scanning her the next day, then on the Friday they even phoned our g.p surgery to make an appointment to discuss her mood. on sat evening my daughter went to linmeds out of hours service where she saw a lovely lady g.p. who also felt a lump in my daughters tummy and high blood pressure and high temperature , my daughter was bleeding also, so again was admitted to branston ward , this time she was seen by a different doctor, who tried to take a blood test that didn’t work properly, after that she was told to go home, my daughter is upset feels humiliated and is still in pain with a lump in her tummy, and worried, quite clearly the staff have decided that it’s all down to my daughters bi polar ,and there’s nothing wrong, I will be making an official complaint. I am really disgusted by this whole episode.

Story from


Response from Jennie Negus, Deputy Chief Nurse, United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust

picture of Jennie Negus

There is no doubt that both you and your daughter have had an extremely upsetting and worrying experience and I am very sorry. It is impossible for me to comment specifically, but I note you have said you have made an official complaint and I hope this has been able to resolve your concerns. If you need anything further then please do not hesitate to contact us either through the complaints department or via

Thank you for telling us your story - it is important we hear about how patients and their families have been cared for and when this has been a poor experience we can learn and develop from it. I accept and apologise that my reply is so long after you originally wrote but our process for responding to postings has just been developed and I felt it important to reply to all, even if they were some time ago.

Thank you again and I hope that your issues and concerns have now been resolved.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful