You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page


About: Royal Victoria Hospital (Folkestone)

What I liked

I was very impressed with the Royal Victoria Hospital in Folkestone. The staff who looked after me were exceptionally friendly, and the hospital environment cleanliness was exceptional! In my opinion this closed part of this hospital is wasted. all those empty wards, and rooms etc a could, and should be used. The open part of the hospital is great, just think how great the main part could be! A great shame that its still partially closed. Come on NHS, you can do it!

What could be improved

My only qualm is the waiting time in the walk -in centre can be exceptionally long. I sat for 3 hours and 20 mins with a broken ankle before being seen. I think the NHS should invest in a few more members of staff. Other than that, this place is spot on.

Anything else?

Please please re-open the closed part of the hospital, its such a waste, and would save people having to goto Ashford which is better for the environment too.

Story from


Response from Steven Hams, Deputy Chief Nurse and Head of Quality, East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust

We are delighted that you had a positive experience during your visit to the Royal Victoria Hospital in Folkestone and especially pleased that our staff were friendly and welcoming.

I am sorry that you had to wait over three hours to have your broken ankle looked at, we always aim to see people as quickly as possible, sometimes this may mean that other patients who are unwell may be seen sooner.

I will pass on your comments to Karina Greenan who is the Head of Nursing with responsibility for our urgent care services to see if there are any improvements we can make so that people are seen more quickly.

Thanks again for taking the time to feedback – we really appreciate it

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful