"My visit to Halewood Walk-in Centre."

About: Knowsley NHS Walk-in Centre, Halewood Liverpool PCT / Emergency GP out of hours service

(as a service user),

I attended Halewood walk-in centre on Sunday evening around 7pm.

There was only one other person in the waiting room and the board behind the reception staff said that there was an hour and a half wait. Every time I have attended the centre it always says there is over an hour wait although I have never waiting longer than half an hour to be see. To me its done to discourage patients.

We sat in the waiting room and the windows at the top of the wall were open and it was very cold. I asked reception staff if they could close it and they said they would but nobody came around to do it.

The cleaners were in the main part of the building in the reception area while we were waiting and they were very noisy laughing and joking with each other. They were talking about personal things and the odd swear word could be heard. I was with my 9 year old daughter who had severe headaches and the noise and frequent shrieks from them were disturbing to her.

When we went into triage there were two members of staff that attended to her. They were attentive and we were treated well by them. However outside it seemed like everyone was on wind down and there was a lot of messing by reception and medical staff. It seemed like they didn’t know we were there. It got to the point that a member of staff fell against the door of the triage room and I told the nurse how disgusted I was at the level of unprofessionalism there was in the department. She was embaressed by this and brushed it off and pretended it was nothing. The other member of staff that was in the room went out to presumably ask them to be quiet.

I felt total lack of regard or patient care by any member of staff on my visit to the centre. There was no regard to mine or my daughters comfort while in the waiting room or whilst being seen. It was as if no one was in charge and a gang of kids were running a muck whilst there parents weren’t there.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kelly Owen, PALS, Knowsley Integrated Provider Services

Dear Mary101,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Patient Opinion. I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the service that you and your daughter received whilst visiting the Walk in Centre. Could you please contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0800 073 0578 and provide them with your contact details as I would like to speak with you personally about the issues you have raised?

Due to a technical difficulty on the Patient Opinion website this response is late and I apologise on their behalf for that.

Kind Regards,

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful