"They wanted him to walk despite being on bed rest"

About: Queen's Medical Centre / Cardiology

(as a relative),

My father was a pateint on ward B3 overnight whilst waiting to be transfered to City Trent Cardiac Centre. I was absolutely horrified with his care and treatment whilst on this ward, he suffers from depression and was placed next to a someone who had mental health issues and was trying to discuss killing themselves with my father.

After numerous heart attacks and a cardiac arrest i was appalled to find he had been sent to a general medical admission ward after spending 6 hours in resus. I know the demand for beds is high, but with my fathers PMH and the fact he usually goes straight to the Trent Cardiac Centre, I was not happy! The care he recieved there was pretty average.

I am well aware of visiting times. However, I found the atitude of one particular receptionist somewhat ignorant. I wanted to bring my father some clean clothes in at 1pm, I did not want to stay and visit as I knew he was being transfered. The receptionist went on to tell me that she would get my father to walk from the end of the ward to collect his clean clothes! I was horrified! He had just had his 5th heart attack and they wanted him to walk to collect his belongings after being told he was on strict bed rest!

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments about your fathers care at our Queens Medical Centre hospital. You have highlighted areas of concern that do need to be addressed by us. Please could you contact our Complaints Team on 0800 183 0204 so we can investigate this immediately and provide you with a full response.