"Great staff, filthy toilets!"

About: Rotherham Hospital

(as the patient),

I had the misfortune to experience being on ward B4. Although the staff were caring and friendly, the actual ward toilets left a lot to be desired. I do not approve of mixed toilets and they were in a shocking state!!!

The food was terrible and did not cater for diabetics, which I am. But the toilets for cafe downstairs were spotless and clean. Why can't the rest of the wards in the hospital be like theirs?

Sorry for being blunt and to the point!

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Grace Oldfield, Patient Involvement Manager, Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust

Dear rain620,

Thank you for your posting on Patients Opinion. We are very grateful to you for taking the time to feed back your experiences during your stay on Ward B4 and pleased to know that our staff were caring and friendly, and have passed your kind comment about the care you received onto them.

We were however concerned to learn about your comments relating to the state of the toilets/mixed sex use. We asked the Matron for the Ward and she has confirmed that toilets are individually assigned to gender specific bays, however, unfortunately, some patients do use the ‘wrong toilets’ and we are reliant to some extent on patients alerting us if the toilet is not clean as we can’t check them after each patient has used them. Our Senior Nurses regularly review the gender allocation of toilets and their cleanliness in an unannounced manner and the Matron will increase her spot checks. We really try hard to improve our services based on the comments we receive from patients and have also asked that our ward staff remind and show patients on arrival to the ward, their specific toilet location.

Regarding your comment about food /not catering for diabetics. We have discussed your comment with one of our Catering Managers who has confirmed that whilst there is no diabetic specific diet ID given on the menu, the Catering Department provide a varied and balanced 7 day menu with options given for deserts e.g. low sugar rice pudding/custard being identified.

We do hope the aforementioned responses go some way into explaining that we try very hard to provide the best quality care possible. If you would like to discuss any of the aforementioned points further, perhaps you would contact our Patient Services Department on 01709 304461 who I am sure will be able to assist you further.

With best wishes,


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful