You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page

"Great medical care - awful admin"

About: Royal Shrewsbury Hospital

What I liked

I have ongoing health issues and been a frequent visitor to the hospital (including surgery) for the last 2 years. The medical/nursing care has been excellent. Unfortunately the same cannot be said re the administrative services. To be toatally frank they are a disaster!! Inefficient is a polite way to describe the shambolic state of the admin........I have to have treatment at both QE2 hospital and the Royal Free at Hampstead. I was having tests done at Shrewsbury, but the results were never forwarded properly to the other hospitals involved -or my GP - and have now resorted to travelling to the QE2 for all tests to ensure that information does get to relevant departments efficiently.

My wife has recently been diagnosed with Angina and referred to Shrewsbury Hospital and guess results forthcoming ex tests done 4 weeks limbo and worried. Despite follow-up directly and through our GP still no news. Notes have not been to hand when appointments have been fixed which is a joke........

To finish, I must also say that the non-medical led funding board rejected my specialists' request for cutting edge treatment of my cancer condition because they did/do not understand what the treatment entailed (actually cheaper than chemo and embolism treatment)

Admin and management at the hospital clearly need a major and radical shake-up.

Story from


Response from Royal Shrewsbury Hospital

Thank you for your comments about the care you received from cancer services and your wife received from angina services at the Royal Shrewsbury Hospital.

We aim to provide the highest standard of care for all of our patients. We are pleased to hear that your medical care and nursing care met your expectations, and we are disappointed to hear of the difficulties you have found with results and administration. We apologise that you have has these difficulties and we are working hard to improve our administrative processes.

Unfortunately the NHS Choices website does not share your contact information with the Trust. We would like to look into the issues you have raised in more detail and follow them up with the departments concerned. We would therefore encourage you to call our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0800 783 0057 or visit their office near the Main Ward Entrance. They aim to: provide advice and support to patients, their families and carers; listen to your concerns, suggestions or queries; and, help sort out problems quickly on your behalf. If you wish to make a formal complaint then the PALS service will be able to provide you with more information about how to do this. You can also find out more on the Trust website at

The issues that you have raised about a request for funding will have been a decision taken by your local Primary Care Trust rather than by this hospital. If you would like to talk to your local Primary Care Trust about this, then the main local bodies cover Shropshire ( and Telford & Wrekin (

Thanks again for taking the time and trouble to provide feedback about your care.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful