"Triple major operations and care at Tameside hospital and aftercare."

About: Tameside General Hospital / Breast surgery

(as the patient),

Over the past 25 years I have been under Tameside hospital for various problems, both my girls were delivered in the maternity unit where I found the nurses were fantastic, helpful and understanding.

Then 2 years ago I was offered a hysterectomy but declined at that point. Unfortunately, things progressed and I was diagnosed with prolapse, requiring hysterectomy, TOT which is bladder supported by tape, repair to front and back walls, fibroids etc.

My consultant Dr Hannah was fantastic, very understanding and explained in detail what was going to be done and when etc.

In my opinion, he is a fantastic consultant, 1 of the best I have seen for a long time. I had also heard a great numbers of comments from patients to nurses so I knew I was in good hands.

I went into Tameside in May 2011 in the early morning. I had no bed but was eventually put in a surgical ward then went down for my operation in the afternoon. I woke up on the Womens Unit after my operation.

I can honestly say the standard of care and understanding from the nurses and doctors were fantastic. Every worry was explained and they attended to every minor worry, no matter how busy or under staffed they were. But my care was 100%.

I take my hat off to them, they do a fantasic job, which I wouldn't or couldn't do without. Well done.

I was discharged after 3 days, but the only thing I felt which was not given to me was information for aftercare for the next 3 months, what I could or couldn't do. Apprently I should have been given a leaflet. Just little things of getting in and out of bed which I looked up on the internet beforehand etc. But anyone less fortunate than myself wouldn't have known what to do as I was not given any physio afterwards.

Just had my 3 month checkup and everythings ok. I asked a lot of questions to Dr Hannah, who answered and reassured me.

The only bad point was the food, which I felt was not good but is better than 10 years ago. I think there should be more budget and get a top chef to revisit how it's being produced and stored. My guess is that the food I ate stood for far too long or had been overcooked. But it's my opinion that very fw hospitals have good food, other than a private one.

But on the whole Tameside your care has been fantastic, well done.

And a Big thank you to all the nurses, doctors and of course Dr Hannah!


Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Philip Dylak, Director of Nursing, Tameside Hospital Foundation Trust

Thank you for these kind comments – you have certainly had an eventful medical history but I am pleased we have been there for you. I will ensure that the staff concerned, particularly Dr Hanna, are made aware of your remarks.

I am sorry you were not given a leaflet – I will look into this for future patients, as it is something which is relatively easy to do but can make a big difference.

With regard to the food, I will ask the relevant manager, who takes great pride in his work (as we all do) to see whether there was any particular why you did not get the service we would expect. In fact we get very few negative comments about the food.

I do hope that you are now feeling much better

Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved?

Please contact Philip Dylak, Director of Nursing at philip.dylak@tgh.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful