You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page

"Poor care and treatment with a 'do as you are..."

About: Kettering General Hospital

What I liked

I have struggled to find acceptable obs and gynae services in this hospital.

There have been individual professionals that have been lovely and are a credit to the service.

What could be improved

In 2006 I had a terrible birth experience which left me worrying about the next one due in September 2011. I was induced and experienced lots of pain before I was classed as in labour. when I was given a epidural it ran out when I was 10 cm dilated and they had turned off the entonox too. I was rushed to theater and had a cesarian birth. My daughter was taken to special care and she is now a lovely 5 yr old. I have since suffered many miscarraiges and have had private treatment to maintain this pregnancy. I am of course worried about the next birth, even though I am booked in for a cesarean.

With my history I am very keen to see the consultant or the same person every time so that I don't have to explain my history. In 3 appointments I have seen 3 different drs even though I arrange to see the same one each time. This morning I had an appointment to see the consultant but he had been called to an urgent meeting and a different dr was there instead. Although she may have been a very good senior registra I had arranged to see the consultant and had been told that he would be there. The last registra I saw was not aware of the treatments I had recieved for recurrent miscarraige and I left feeling that I had wasted my time.

When I tried to re-arrange I was told by the Consultants secretary that I had been offered an appointment and they could not offer another. This left me feeling that I do not have any choice about who I see.

Anything else?

I complained about the service in 2009, when I was left waiting for an op from 8am (when they told me to get there) to 8.30pm when the op was finally performed. I was back home at 12.30am. Poor organisation and communication contributed to this and changes were made as a result. Unfortunately I have had to experience the poor service before they listen and make the service user freindly.

I am so disappointed that with 4 weeks to go I am moving my care to a diferent hospital. I have no faith that KGH can deliver my baby without pain / upset / long waits.

I could not recommend this unit to anyone. It is also old and difficult to make look clean, has very limited single rooms.

Story from nhs.uk

Responses

Response from Kettering General Hospital

I am extremley sorry regarding the experience you have had and clearly can see that you need a number of questions answered and support for your forthcoming birth which I would like to ensure is a positive experience for you.

Please contact G Barnard on 491590 in order to arrange the necessary support to ensure that we are listening and that you have a positive experience of our service.

E Kennedy

Head of Midwifery and Nursing

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read

Shift-Alt-R