You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page

"24 weeks for an urgent appointment."

About: Royal Sussex County Hospital

What I liked

The waiting area is clean and bright with a great view of the sea.

What could be improved

Parking is almost impossible on or around this site.

I was referred and my GP's letter was "lost" a second letter had to be sent. It took 8 months to be seen well outside the 18 weeks. When I did receive an appointment I got 2 letters for 2 different clinics on the same day at the same time. Confusing or what? I called the outpatients clinic and was informed they did not have one of the clinics at the time or day stated.

I eventually saw a consultant and was told I needed an urgent 8 week follow up appointment. I was given a date and then called the day before to cancel the appointment and was given another 8 weeks away. Again on the day before the appointment I was called and again cancelled with no explanation. Another 8 week wait. This is 24 weeks for an urgent appointment. On arriving the clinic was running an hour late which I was not informed of when I checked in. The results of my Ultra Sound Scan were not available to the surgeon. He also had to look up the results himself. Is this the best way for a highly paid highly trained Doctor to be employed? In the days before PC's results were printed and attached to the front of the notes. This is a good use of paper. A copy needs to be added to the notes anyway for later reference so why not have them on the front of the notes?

It has now been a year since my GP's first letter. This is exceptionally poor service.

Anything else?

I have made a formal complaint but have not received any comments from my complaint.

Story from


Response from Royal Sussex County Hospital

We are extremely sorry to hear about your experience at our hospital and encourage you to contact our complaints team via so that we can investigate further. You can also contact Duncan Selbie - Chief Executive of

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust by writing to:

Duncan Selbie - Chief Executive of BSUH

Trust Headquarters

Eastern Road



  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Brighton & Hove LINk

Sorry to hear about your troubles.

We might be able to help you stop things like this happening again. The Brighton and Hove LINk is a health and adult social care watchdog that works independently of the NHS and the government. We have the power to hold the people at the top to account for issues like this and have a good track record of getting changes made. Although we can’t take on your individual case, if these sorts of problems have happened to other people as well we can take it on as a priority and seek action. All we need is for you to complete a short ‘issues’ form to log this problem with us. Is this something you would like to do?

Contact me on for more information, and have a look at our website to see what other people have been telling us about local services

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful