"lack of care from midwife and no sonographers on a weekend"

About: Lincoln County Hospital / Maternity Lincolnshire Teaching PCT

(as the patient),

I was pregnant with twins and after a miscarriage at 23 weeks a few months before, I assumed my midwife would want to keep a closer eye one me!

I saw her once in 5 months as I couldn’t get an appointment. I didn’t receive a visit from her after the miscarriage to check on me.

I have put a proper complaint in.

Also when I was admitted to hospital with bleeding they couldn’t offer me a scan to see what was going on at Lincoln hospital as there were no sonographers at the weekends. I think this is disgusting, as if a woman has problems at a late stage in pregnancy and they could help her then surely they would scan her to see what’s what. However, it seems like they wouldn’t be able to in this situation.

In my opinion that is like saying there’s no police at the weekends.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Jennie Negus, Deputy Director of Patient Services, United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust

picture of Jennie Negus

Please accept my sincere apologies for your experience and my thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We have now developed a system at United Lincolnshire NHS Trust for regularly reviewing and responding to stories and comments left on Patient Opinion and I am sorry that we did not reply to you nearer the time.

I note that you said you were submitting a formal complaint and I hope this has been addressed and resolved for you but if you have any outstanding concerns or issues then please do not hesitate to contact us at patient.involvement@ulh.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful