You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page

"Where do I go from here?"

About: Raigmore Hospital / Gynaecology

(as the patient),

After a number of years of pelvic pain, heavy periods, bowel issues etc I was eventually diagnosed with endometriosis. I had laparoscopic surgery in October last year, where it was confirmed, and was discovered to be severe disease with my reproductive organs. Three large endometriotic cysts were drained and I was prescribed three months of zoladex and discharged the day after the lap with no follow up appointment. 

I visited my GP a fortnight later, to discuss the findings of my op, and to convey my disappointment at having no follow up appointment. I hadn’t been given a lot of details regarding the findings of my lap, and hoped my GP would have a bit more information and be able to explain things to me. However, they didn’t really have a great deal of information either on the letter that was sent to them. We agreed that they would write back to my Consultant to ask for some more information, and to ask if I could be referred onto a bsge accredited endometriosis specialist.

Despite numerous attempts by my GP to contact my Consultant since early November...letters, telephone calls with messages being left...they have yet to respond. This is now the middle of February! 

In the meantime, I am back to cuddling a hot water bottle, rocking back & forth and relying on painkillers to take the edge off the same terrible pain I was in before the op. The prospect of having to suffer this terrible daily pain once more without some kind of plan in place, now we know what is causing it, is filling me with dread. Apart from being extremely sore and relying on pain relief, which only just takes the edge off, I feel like I have been left in limbo. My GP, who is thankfully a great support, is patiently awaiting a response from the Consultant to see what to do next. My patience however, is wearing thin, especially when I’m in so much pain. I am extremely upset and disappointed that the Consultant hasn’t acknowledged any of my GP’s attempts to contact them, and would like to ask your advice on what I can do for some help & support with what to do next.

Responses

Response from Rachel Hill, Clinical Governance Manager, Clinical Governance Support Team, NHS Highland

Dear Snuggles76

I am so sorry to hear about the problems you have been experiencing with your health and the struggle you have had to access to care which will help you. I can understand how upset this must make you feel.

We would be very keen to look into this matter for you to see what we can do to get you the help you need.

Can I ask that you contact the Feedback Team to give them your name and contact details?

nhshighland.feedback@nhs.net or call 01463 705997

Best wishes

Rachel Hill

  • Snuggles76 thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too

Recently read

Shift-Alt-R