"Dad didn't get the care he needed"

About: University Hospital Monklands / General Medicine

(as a relative),

March 2017 my father was admitted to hospital via A& E after having a seizure. He had lung cancer with brain mets and we had been told if he had a seizure then admission to get correct medication.

He was then admitted to ward 14 (general medicine) when previously he was admitted to respiratory ward due to lung cancer. While he was in the ward he was told that he had an infection and would get home when he could go onto tablet antibiotics, he went onto tablet antibiotics and wasn't allowed home.

I also told the nurse that the local hospice were involved with his care because he wanted to be at home. The hospice were never called by the hospital. I also told the nurse I was next of kin and if dad was being told anything important then to phone me and I will be there within a hour as cancer was affecting his memory. I was never called and whenever I asked what was happening I was always told to ask at the oncologist appointment in a weeks time.

My dad started to not eat, drink his coffee or read his paper and I wasn't told this. I went to visit dad at the weekend for him to break down and beg me to take him home. He signed himself out against medical advice and the dr on the ward only took him seriously when I said he had cancer and we didn't know how long he had so if this was his last weekend I was taking him home. The dr failed to remind my dad or tell me that they had increased his steroids so he comes home and takes alot lower dose which was detrimental.  I then had staff from the hospice tell me I done the right thing bringing him home and they were shocked that they hadn't been contacted. Them and my dads gp also told me that general medical ward was completely wrong for someone going through chemotherapy and that my dad didn't get the care that he needed.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from June Delaney, Senior Nurse, Medicine, University Hospital Monklands, NHS Lanarkshire

picture of June Delaney

Dear Shez1980,

Thank you for taking the time to get in touch via Care Opinion. I can clearly see that you have anxieties around your fathers care in Ward 14 and I’m sorry for the frustration you have experienced whilst he was in hospital with us.

Whilst I’m not able to address your concerns fully on Care Opinion, I read your feedback with concern and I would be keen to look into the issues you have raised.

If you feel able, please contact Lesley Mallon, Patient Affairs Manager on 01236 713065, who would be more than happy to take further details and ensure we have the appropriate consent and permissions to look into your concerns further.

Warmest Regards

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read