"My experiences of Rotherham General Hospital"

About: Rotherham Hospital

(as a relative),

My daughter was recently admitted to this hospital. Because I live some distance away I often had to phone for information as I couldn't visit every day. The staff seemed always very vague about which ward she was on and sometimes didn't know if she was there at all!

When we visited we found the visiting hours inconvenient for long-distance travellers. Signage in the Car park was not very good. Inside the building there were notices about hand hygiene but from what I saw, the staff generally ignored them and I saw many making private calls on their mobiles (which presumably had not been disinfected?) My daughter was prepared for surgery but sent home late afternoon because they said they had run out of time. She had to wait another week.

From my experience, the hospital seemed to be disorganised at best, shambolic at worst.

I hope I don't have to be admitted to Rotherham General.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Rebecca Allinson, Associate Director, Corporate Relations, Rotherham Hospital

Dear Annetheone,

We are sorry to hear of your recent poor experiences here at Rotherham Hospital.

Whilst unfortunately operating lists can overrun due to clinical need all the other aspects you describe are unacceptable and we would value you contacting us directly to let us know more details and specifically which area of the hospital this occured in so that we can take the appropriate action (particularly regarding hand hygiene and the use of mobile phones).

In terms of car parking as you may have noticed on your visit, we are currently undertaking major work to deliver improvements in the Main Entrance one of which will be clear pathways and signage from the Car Park.

Although we have advertised visiting times both the posters and our guidance emphasise that we are open to negotiation for those who struggle with these times for whatever reason and we apologise if this was not made clear to you. Ideally we should have recognised that you were coming a distance and asked you how you were managing things.

With regard to your phone enquiries again it would be useful to know where you rang as whilst we wouldn’t expect the Switchboard to know or share that information we would expect the designated ward to be able to help and apologise that you got such a lack lustre response which can not have given you confidence.

I do hope that your daughter has now had her surgery and is recovering well. Please do contact us directly via Patient Services on 01709 304461 as we would really value your detailed feedback.

With best wishes


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful