"My experience at kings mill on the maternity ward"

About: King's Mill Hospital / Maternity care

I had my daughter on the 2nd May 2017.

The care that I received during my pregnancy from the consultants was excellent, I was monitored very closely, my baby was said to be small so I had regular growth scans and also consultant appointments.

The care was great and I felt in good hands.

Towards the end of my pregnancy it became apparent that my baby was breech.

Because of this I had a planned c section.

On the day of my c section, I arrived at the hospital and was looked after very well on the labour ward, I went into theatre and was very impressed with the care that I received.

Unfortunately that all changed once I was moved to the maternity ward.

Although the staff were very friendly I felt very alone, I didn't really see anyone apart from when I had to have my medication and when I pressed the buzzer for someone to lift my baby out of the crib so I could feed her.

The following day I asked if I could have a shower, when I got in the shower I had a funny turn I was very week and went dizzy I knew I was going to pass out so I pulled the emergency cord and sat on the chair in there.

Someone came into me and asked if I was ok, I asked for a drink of water which they kindly fetched me.

They handed me the water and then just left.

I was in an enourmous amount of pain and was very upset after they left.

I then struggled to get dressed and back out to my bed, I was frightened walking back to my bed without any help that I would fall.

I was then told that I was well enough to go home shortly after the shower.

So the afternoon after my c section I went home.

After the c section I was fitted with a peko dressing.

When the battery stopped working 7 days after I was unsure what to do, I rang the maternity ward to ask for advice, I told them the battery was dead and asked if I needed to come in to have it removed I also mentioned that I had a midwife appointment 3 days later but obviously with the battery no longer working thought it may need to come offf.

I was advised by the maternity ward to just wait until I had the midwife appointment, I took the advise from the medically trained staff and waited.

I then developed an infection which I was later told the cause of this was because I had the dressing on too long.

This caused me a significant amount of distress as I was in so much discomfort and also couldn't tend to my baby properly, I felt like this stopped me from enjoying the first few weeks of my daughters life.

After several courses of antibiotics and many trips to the doctors I was finally on the mend.

I feel disappointed that I was given incorrect advise which ultimately caused me severe discomfort and distress.

i feel additional training should be given to the staff there to enable them to give the correct advice in future.

I would hate for someone else to have the same experience I had at kings mill.

Story from NHS Choices


Response from King's Mill Hospital

I am sorry that you have had such a difficult experience at King's Mill Hospital. Please contact our Patient Experience Team on 01623 672222 or email us at pet@sfh-tr.nhs so that we can investigate further. We always aim to deliver outstanding care to our patients and I am sorry that your experience does not reflect this. I hope you are feeling better now and enjoying the time with your daughter.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read