You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page

"I had an awful experience while ..."

About: Leicester General Hospital

What I liked

I had an awful experience while being treated as an emergency case. I felt that I was an inconvenience to the staff because I was not a planned admission. Would not recommend being treated in this department to anyone. It too 36 hours for me to be seen by a registrar because I didn't present with standard symptoms. I was consented for surgery but not for all the possible options. I was left in recovery for almost 4 hours because the staff were too busy (but yet able to collect other patients)!

I wasn't given any post surgery advice or proper pain management.

What could be improved

It would really help if the staff remembered that patients are people.

Story from


Response from Leicester General Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments about your experience at Leicester General Hospital. We realise a significant amount of time has passed since you posted your comment and we would like to sincerely apologise that we did respond to in a timely manner. We have since updated our process of responding to reviews posted on NHS Choices and are now committed to making sure we respond to comments within 21 days of the date they are posted. If you would still like you comment or concern to be investigated, please contact PILS on 08081 788337 or online at If you have any other specific questions or comments, please feel free to contact us on Thank you Communications Team Leicester’s Hospitals

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful