"Not a fan of Shields hospital"

About: South Tyneside District Hospital / Maternity care

I am 21 weeks pregnant with my first child. Thankfully up to now all my scan appointments have been great with the midwife however the receptionist has a very poor attitude. The receptionist does not give you eye contact when speaking with you and doesn't seem to have time for you which I think is disgusting.

I had to re-arrange my appointment as I was going on holiday and when I ran to re-arrange the same receptionist answered the phone. When asking to change my appointment they asked why and advised that I have already changed my appointment once and they couldn't change it again. I advised I have no re-arranged any previous appointments when looking into it the receptionist said "ahh so you haven't, yes I will change your appointment".

I went in for a Anti-D injection due to a blow to the stomach. The midwife who dealt with me was very polite, empathic and took time to listen to me and explain everything and answer all my questions.

I also went in as I felt no movement, my stomach had gone very very soft and I was having pains. When I went down it was frowned upon. The staff checked me and listened into baby heartbeat but advised that I shouldn't have really came down because there is no issues when stomach is soft and pains were just ligament pain. I wasn't to know this as it's my first pregnancy and I get worried! I feel the attitude of the staff is not professional and they should treat each individual as a person.

I am thinking of maybe changing the hospital I give birth at due to the poor service I have received from the team.

Not the best l.

I

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from South Tyneside District Hospital

Thank you for providing feedback on your visit to South Tyneside District Hospital.

I am very sorry to learn that you were unhappy with your experience following your attendance at the Maternity Department and we will ensure your feedback is shared with the Head of Midwifery.

We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns further to enable a full investigation of the concerns that you have raised. If you would like to contact our Customer Services Department on 0191 404 1072 or e-mail customer.services@stft.nhs.uk and a member of the team will take the necessary details from you.

The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can gain an understanding of what is important to our patients.

Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices.

Customer Services Department

South Tyneside NHS Foundation Trust

Telephone: 0191 4040 1072

E-mail: customer.services@stft.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful