"Person-centred care for my fractured wrist"

About: Aberdeen Royal Infirmary / Orthopaedics Balfour Hospital / Trauma & orthopaedics

(as the patient),

Id like to pass on my gratitude and appreciation to all the staff involved in my care when I fractured my wrist.

At every point from arriving in A&E in Kirkwall, to my operation in Aberdeen Royal Infirmary and follow up appointments, I feel that care, attention and treatment was very much person-centred.

I appreciate this because it was clear that all the staff, from admin to consultants, were very much under pressure with the growing number of cases they had to deal with whilst I was in their care. It seemed to me that things were sometimes at crisis point for them, that they are tired and stressed, but realise what I am seeing is probably a normal typical day for them. I'm not sure how they do it but am grateful for their time and patience.

I experienced long periods of waiting at times, but when you see what the staff have to coordinate for a single person's care when there aren't enough doctors, nurses, beds or operating theatres, it is quite understandable. The staff did their best with the resources they had available to them and continued to make me feel that, as a patient, I was important to them.

Thank you.


Response from Kate Danskin, Chief Nurse, Surgical Division, NHS Grampian

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so glad you found your care to be person centred. I can only imagine it must have been a pretty traumatic experience for you - with the addition of the distance you had to travel.

The orthopaedic trauma wards in Aberdeen Royal are frequently very busy and by the nature of what they deal with they have to plan, prioritise and sometimes re-prioritise operations to make sure patients needing surgery most urgently are first. That can unfortunately lead to some waiting for others.

I am glad you found, despite what sounds like a particularly busy day, that the team still made you feel you were important and had time for you. The teams work really hard to deliver the best care and I know they will be delighted to hear your feedback. I will share your post with them as soon as I post this reply.

I am a bit worried to hear you felt things were almost at crisis point when you were in the ward. I would be keen to have a conversation with you about this if you felt that is something you would like to do? You can contact me via the switchboard at 0345 456 6000

Thank you again for taking the time to post. We really appreciate it. I hope your wrist is on the mend.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from NHS Orkney

I would like to reiterate Kate from NHS Grampian’s sentiments and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am very pleased you felt that staff took care to ensure your treatment was person-centred. Clearly you were in hospital at a busy time, and although I am not sure if your comments all relate to both NHS Orkney and NHS Grampian, we are aware that at times our staff can be extremely busy and under pressure. It is good to hear that even when things are hectic, our staff still have the time to understand what is important to our patients. I will pass on your experience to our staff, who will be most pleased to read your story.

If you would like to discuss any of your care or treatment further, please don’t hesitate to contact our Patient Experience Officer on 01856 888221 or julietait@nhs.net

Elaine Peace

Director of Nursing, Midwifery and Allied Health Prossions

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read