"Patient care"

About: Royal Gwent Hospital / General Medicine

(as a carer),

Dreadful care given to my mother. Staff seem unaware of the patient's needs. Poor communication on handover and with families.

My mother was admitted following a fall, contracted pneumonia and is now unconscious and unaware of everything and everyone.

Staff contradict each other and I am so glad I have retired from the NHS.

My mother has developed bed sores and been, in my view,  Catheterised needlessly.

She is registered blind, yet her drinks and meals are left on her trolley which she can't see.

Without looking at her notes, staff are unable to offer any information, simply reading what was written previously.

What a shambles and I'm so ashamed and disappointed.


Response from Aneurin Bevan University Health Board

We are sorry to hear of your recent experience regarding your mother's care. We would like to hear from you further in order that we can try and address these matters.

Please would you contact the concerns team at the Customer Contact Centre on 01495 745656 or if easier email us at:- Puttingthingsright.ABHB@wales.nhs.uk

We look forward to hearing from you.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read