"Lack of Services of the Storey Street Walk-In Centre, Hull"

About: Hull Teaching PCT

(as a relative),

Today my child developed a nasty discharge from the ear, having had recurrent ear infections due to previous surgery, I am very aware of the symptoms and the need to see a GP.

Due to it being Friday afternoon I knew I would not be able to get an appointment with my own GP and therefore took my child the the "GP" walk-in centre in the Hull city centre.

We arrived at 3pm only to be told that the doctor had been called to a home visit and would not be back before the walk-in centre closed at 8pm.

I find it hard to believe that the home visit would take 5 hours and feel it is unacceptable that a GP walk-in centre does not have access to a GP.

A couple of weeks ago, my relative took their child there at the weekend as they had been bitten by a dog and needed a tetanus booster.No tetanus vaccine was available and so they had to go to A&E.

Walk-in centres are a great idea, but do need to be able to offer the necessary services if they want people to stop attending A&E inappropriately.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from NHS Hull

Dear PaulJW

Thank you for posting your comments on the PO website. We forwarded your concerns to the Practice Manager and have received the following response:

1) regarding the home visit - that day the doctor was called out on an emergency home visit and unfortunately the same day the nurse on duty was off sick. We had to tell patients that they could be waiting for up to 2 hours to see a GP (normally the nurse would have carried on seeing the patients and if they needed any medication would have been asked to either come back and see the GP or to collect a precription). There were 13 patients waiting when the doctor came back from the visit at 4.00pm and the patient may have been put off from waiting because of this;

2)the tetanus booster not being available - unfortunately for 2 weeks we were waiting for supply of tetanus from the manufacturer as there was a shortage of it.

We do apologise for the inconvenience caused and will endeavour to ensure that our services will be improved as a result of your raising these issues with us.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful