About: Luton & Dunstable Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked


What could be improved


Anything else?

I gave birth to my first son in may 2009 and all in all it was a horrible experience. firstly there were no beds in the delivery suite (which can maybe be expected) so i gave birth on the ward luckily they gave me my own room. my son was born at 5:00am and he wasnt cleaned up/bathed until about 9:00am the following morning even though i had asked them to. as a young mum i was scared and they offered me no support whatsoever after i have given birth, no advice or anything. this was discomforting as my son wouldnt take his bottle and didnt know what else to do. also i stayed in my dirty birth sheets and gown until i left at 11:00am the following morning. i was utterly disgraced with the quality of care i had been given. i would not use this hospital again, would reccomend any other just not this one.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Luton & Dunstable Hospital

We try at all times to avoid delivering on the wards, but unfortunately there are rare times when due to bed capacity this cannot be avoided. Equally if the labour is very quick it is often safer not to move the mother-to-be. However, if a mother delivers on the ward we try to move her into a single room for privacy as soon as possible after the birth. We hope that both yourself and baby are doing well and would be happy to discuss any concerns with you if you care to contact us on 0845 127 0 127.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful