"Out of hours help"

About: Queen Elizabeth University Hospital Glasgow Royal Alexandra Hospital / General Surgery Royal Hospital for Children (Glasgow) / Ear, Nose & Throat

(as a parent/guardian),

My Daughter had both her tonsils and adenoids removed from out patients at Royal Hospital for sick children recently. She stayed over night then discharged the following morning as normal with instructions. As expected my daughter wasn't herself, although she managed this well with regular painkillers administered.

On day 5 as advised, my daughter had a rough time, however instead of again progressing after day 5, she continued to deteriorate.

I contacted the number on the letter which was for ward 1E where she had spent the night. They got an ENT consultant to call me back. After a discussion on the phone the consultant advised they would be happy to re admit my daughter due to lack of eating,drinking and pain. They asked however if I was able to try manage this at home to keep my daughter comfortable, which of course I done. They advised if she did not start to improve that I could bring her straight up.

I also took her to our local GP that day, where she was prescribed antibiotics as a precaution due to pain.

We managed this a further day, although she continued to be in pain. At 7 days post op my daughter was still in pain, up throughout night, barely eating or drinking.

With no painkillers able to be given as max dose already administered, along antibiotics given. I again contacted the number on the discharge letter for ward 1E. I spoke to the nurse on charge who advised me to bring my daughter to A&E, she advised to contact NHS24 before I done so to have her details on system to try help her be seen quicker.

Following the instructions from the nurse I done all of the above. Shortly after the call, I was then contacted from a team member from the Queen Elizabeth who advised me her team leader had requested she call me and advise there was a 2hour wait due to them being busy, she then asked me to redirect to RAH Paisley. Obviously I advised that the hospital I was trying to attend suited my daughter better under the circumstances, but still agreed to go to RAH as requested.

Upon arriving at the RAH, I was not the only one redirected here. So after over an hour wait whilst Dr's changed shift had a break etc, we were finally seen.

Only to be advised as soon as I sat down that the Dr didn't understand why I had been redirected to RAH as they couldn't offer help! They then proceeded to call the hospital that had diverted me else where. The receiving surgeon for ENT on shift advised, after 7days post op they wouldn't offer my daughter any further pain relief only offering a spray.

I felt this was a useless prescription as at 1am no chemist was open and the RAH Dr advised they do not stock it. I purchased the nearest thing I could for this from my local Asda store once we left.

I am by no means a paranoid mother. My other daughter has had her tonsils removed too, which was nothing compared to this. We have also spent weeks in hospital with her for much more serious matters. So we are by no means unable to manage a distressing situation.

However when my daughter is suffering with the pain she was, no pain relief giving her the relief she badly needed and being passed from pillar to post. I am by far less than impressed.

We have only just managed to get my daughter on recovery 11days post op! Everyone handles surgery and pain different, I completely understand this, but I think to dismiss her over the phone was disgusting, to be sent from the "super hospital " to a hospital unable to provide the care that my daughter needed is just a joke!

Yes she is now recovering, but that's thanks to us as her parents, no sleep and barley eating has not done her or us any good. Her recovery may have been quicker had she been given the support from the professionals, that in my opinion as her mother she did require.

To feel that I have to complain for the miss treatment of my daughter is horrible. But I believe if I don't speak up this could lead to other problems for other patients in the future.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Coral Brady, Business & Admin Manager, Women & Children's Services, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

picture of Coral Brady

Dear Worried Mum 2017,

I am so sorry to hear of your daughters' experience, it sounds as though she has had a very difficult and uncomfortable time recently.

With your agreement, I would like to investigate the concerns you have shared with our clinical teams, with the aim of reviewing our post-discharge arrangements, and our communications during out of hours admissions.

If you are happy for me to do this, please can you contact me on coral.brady@ggc.scot.nhs.uk.

Thank you so much for taking the time to get in touch and I hope to hear from you.

Kind regards


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful