"Friendliness of staff, nice clean, ..."

About: Kettering General Hospital

(as a relative),

What I liked

Friendliness of staff, nice clean, bright surroundings in the treatment centre, modern and pleasant and this feedback facility!

What could be improved

Car parking facilities are hideous. Arrived early for appointment but though drove several times around the whole hospital grounds, up and down, couldn't find parking space. Found an unmarked space in the treament centre car park which was in no one's way and didn't block anyone in. Left a message with phone number visible to call me if the car's position was a problem.

No phone call, but when I returned, there was aparking fine attached.

Plenty of other people had parked in non-marked spaces in the area out of everyone's way, and even though reception had kindly honed the car park manager to warm him that our appointment was delayed we (ended up waiting about 2 hours), still got the fine.

Can anyone advise please?


Anything else?

Advice on formal complaint re: parking please

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kettering General Hospital

We are sorry to hear about the problems you had parking at Kettering General Hospital. We are very busy during peak times but it is very rare indeed that all of our car parks fill up completely. Those nearest the buildings do tend to, but it is very unfortunate that you couldn’t find a space and we apologise for that.

It is necessary to police the parking because past experience tells us that blockages and other major problems occur if we are not rigorous with our control.

We constantly review our parking situation to ensure we have the correct mix of visitor and staff spaces. Finally, there are help points around the site which allow visitors to contact the car park office when difficulties arise.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful