"Staff were friendly and most of ..."

About: The Royal Victoria Infirmary

(as the patient),

What I liked

Staff were friendly and most of them helpful. Ward was amazingly clean!

What could be improved

Ward was too hot most of the time, staff failed to mention that i would not be allowed off ward if i took sedative, after i was brought back to ward the last meal was missed so i sat all day from 8am and right until i was discharged at 11.30pm the same day without food, was only allowed to leave ward at 10.30pm for fresh air.

And to top it off i wasn't told by dr what was found during surgery so i now have to wait til i can see my own GP.

Anything else?

Wounds are now infected as nurse had to remove my stitches as they were tied too tight, also bruising that is spreading up my arm from wrist :( also very painful.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Royal Victoria Infirmary

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments on NHS Choices, your kind comments are acknowledged and appreciated. However, we have also noted that you were unhappy with some aspects of your care, and were concerned to see this. We are always keen to respond to patient’s concerns and would be very happy to discuss the issues you identify with you in person if you would find it helpful.

If you would like to discuss this further, please contact the Patient Relations department on 0191 2231382 We can then follow up your concerns with the areas involved and ensure any outstanding queries you have are answered.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful