"Conplete waste of my time and NHS money"

About: Spire Roding Hospital

It took me longer to fill out their pointless forms than it did for the consultation. I was asked for my medical history which I gave the consultant then proceeded to prod and poke at me, got me stand and wobbled me about a couple of times then told me that the NHS MRI report for my neck was clear and they couldn't see anything wrong. I was surprised and asked whether the report mentioned anything about what had previously been found, they then read the piece of paper in front of them and said 'oh yes there's slight deterioration if the C4/C5 though my husband, who was there with me said he could see what they were reading and there was no mention of anything. The worst thing is that I've previously been diagnosed with degenerative disc disorder in my neck (and lower back) but at C5/6 and C7/T1. The only reason I went back to my GP with this is because I believe my condition has worsened, not by coming up with a random diagnosis of fibromyalgia simply because they poked a place on the side of my knee where I have a varicose vein. What I didn't tell them because by that time I just wanted to get out of there, was that one of the numerous hospitals that I've been under for my arthritis has investigated and ruled out fibromyalgia many years ago. Like I said in the title of this review, complete waste of my time and NHS money.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Spire Roding Hospital

I am very sorry to hear that you feel you have not received the high standard of service we always aim to deliver.

Listening to and acting on feedback is important to us and I would like to take the opportunity to meet with you to discuss your experience and concerns in person or over the telephone at your convenience.

The Spire Roding Hospital follows a comprehensive complaints and concerns management process to ensure broad investigations and this helps us to identify a root cause which in return provides us an opportunity to learn as an organisation.

Once more I would like to genuinely apologise, that on this occasion we were not able to meet your expectations which gave you a reason to leave this feedback.

If I can offer any help or you would like to discuss this matter with me you can contact me on 0208 709 7762.

Yours sincerely

Julie Gray

Matron/ Head of Clinical Services

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful